The Lesters

The Lesters

Named after the iconic jockey Lester Piggott, the Lesters are renowned in the racing industry as the annual Awards voted for by jockeys for jockeys and as such are hugely coveted. Traditionally they have been presented at a glamorous Awards ceremony but unfortunately, due to the Covid 19 pandemic, the event has been unable to take place for the last three years. However, the awards have still been presented during a live broadcast on Sky Sports Racing with the 2021 winners receiving their awards on Friday 25th February 2022.

William Buick won his first Flat Jockey of the Year Lester, having won Apprentice Jockey of the Year back in 2007 and 2008. Hollie Doyle added to her tally of Lesters, picking up the Female Jockey of the Year for the second year in a row.

Jockeys Marco Ghiani and Danny McMenamin received their first career Lesters for Apprentice Jockey of the Year and Conditional Jockey of the Year, and it was another Lesters first when Harry Skelton picked up Jump Jockey of the Year, a fitting tribute to Harry who was crowned Champion Jockey in 2021.

Ray Dawson’s inspired front running ride on Marshall Dan at Sandown on 10th September 2021 was voted by Racing TV viewers as the Flat Ride of the Year. In contrast, the never- say- die, persistent, ride that Sean Quinlan gave For Jim at Hexham on 9th October 2021 got the vote from Sky Racing viewers for their Jump Ride of the Year.

Joe Fanning received his second Flat Jockey Special Recognition award of his career whilst Richard Johnson OBE, four times Champion Jockey and such a familiar face on the jumps circuit until his retirement in April 2021, won the Jump Jockey Special Recognition award. This is Johnson’s seventh Lester and is a tribute to his enduring popularity amongst his colleagues in the weighing room.

Winners of the Lesters 2021

  • Female Jockey of the Year: Hollie Doyle
  • Apprentice Jockey of the Year: Marco Ghiani
  • Flat Ride of the Year: Ray Dawson, Marshall Dan, Sandown, 10. 09.21
  • Flat Jockey Special Recognition: Joe Fanning
  • Conditional Jockey of the Year: Danny McMenamin
  • Jump Ride of the Year: Sean Quinlan, For Jim, Hexham 9.10.21
  • Jump Jockey Special Recognition: Richard Johnson
  • Flat Jockey of the Year: William Buick
  • Jump Jockey of the Year: Harry Skelton